la massa, homemade gnocchi, in mare e pirates

Buonasera a tutti,

Di mattina I awoke early to get ready for mass, we were running slightly behind so I couldn’t go with nonna and Paula, so Matteo drove me to this cute little chiesa just down the road, where he used to do his catechism classes as a bambino. I’m still not used to cars over here having a steering wheel on the other side, when I feel like i’m going to be driving la macchina myself every time I hop into the passengers seat (because in New Zealand we drive on the left side of the road.

weird cars that have their steering wheel on the wrong side!

weird cars that have their steering wheel on the wrong side!

We made it to mass, albeit a bit late, Matteo just took me in to find where Nonna was sitting, and then left to sit in the car until it was finished. I bought myself a mass book in Australia before I left, and it was both english and italian, so I managed to follow along alright, which was good. It was a piccola carina chiesa, and afterwards, nonna introduced me to a few of her amiche. It was so adorable, she seemed so proud to introduce me to them. And one of the little old ladies could speak a bit of english, which was nice. And even the padre was really lovely, when nonna introduced me. Not that I could do much apart from smile and nod my head. haha

The cute little mass sign

The cute little mass sign

At the entrance to la piccolo chiesa

At the entrance to la piccolo chiesa

beautiful statue of our lady

beautiful statue of our lady

the cute little church! It's tiny! Ahhh

the cute little church! It’s tiny! Ahhh

After chiesa we made our way back home. Nonna was telling me that Matteo should of come into church. I was saying I thought so too! When we got home it was time to make home made gnocchi! It was sooooo easy! All it was, was boiled patate grated,  farina e uovo! And that’s it! You would add the farina e uovo alle patate, then knead it together with your hands, then pack it into a long thick roll, and cut it in slices, then cut that slice in half, and then roll into thinnish long snake like roles with your hands, and then cut into pieces. Then after that you put it in boiling water, and when the water starts boiling again, they’re done. And nonna made a sugo di pomodori al ragu. And boy was it delicious! Definitely something I will be making for lunches when we get back to londra, I couldn’t believe how simple it was to make!

Grated patate! Photo Credit: Matteo

Grated patate!
Photo Credit: Matteo

add farina!  Photo Credit: Matteo

add farina!
Photo Credit: Matteo

Then add the uovo Photo Credit: Matteo

Then add the uovo
Photo Credit: Matteo

Kneed it all together. Had to really put my body weight into it! Photo Credit: Matteo

Kneed it all together. Had to really put my body weight into it!
Photo Credit: Matteo

roll it in to a long bread like shape, and cut off slices, then cut in half again. Photo Credit: Matteo

roll it in to a long bread like shape, and cut off slices, then cut in half again.
Photo Credit: Matteo

rolling them into little long snakes.  Photo Credit: Matteo

rolling them into little long snakes.
Photo Credit: Matteo

Then chop them! Photo Credit: Matteo

Then chop them!
Photo Credit: Matteo

the uncooked gnocchi! All ready to put in boiling water! Photo Credit: Matteo

the uncooked gnocchi! All ready to put in boiling water!
Photo Credit: Matteo

All done! Gnocchi al sugo pomodori al ragu

All done! Gnocchi al sugo pomodori al ragu

Now to add the parmeggiano! I LOVE parmeggiano!

Now to add the parmeggiano! I LOVE parmeggiano!

When pranzo was over, nonna brought out her old coins, because we were chatting about the lira and how 80000 lira equalled like 40 euros. or something along those lines. It was so amazing seeing some of the coins that she had, and random medals she had in her coin container! Even some from la guerra! 

An old war medal. Nonna has like 6 of these!  Photo Credit: Matteo

An old war medal. Nonna has like 6 of these!
Photo Credit: Matteo

Pope Paul 6th! Became pope in 1963! Was from Matteo's Great great nonno!

Pope Paul 6th! Became pope in 1963!
Was from Matteo’s Great great nonno!

Other side of Pope Paul's coin. Photo Credit: Matteo

Other side of Pope Paul’s coin.
Photo Credit: Matteo

Another Vatican coin. Photo Credit: Matteo

Another Vatican coin.
Photo Credit: Matteo

2nd side of this coin. Photo Credit: Matteo

2nd side of this coin.
Photo Credit: Matteo

We found a coin with a swazstika on it!  Photo credit: Matteo

We found a coin with a swazstika on it!
Photo credit: Matteo

That pomeriggio  we made our way to fumicino in spiaggia. And got to experience the mare al romana. Gosh it was windy, but rather bella still. Obviously its no amalfi coast and we are still in inverno but it was a nice day considering. Not somewhere I think I would want to go for a swim in febbraio considering it looked pretty rough, but still. It was nice to be able to say, been there done that!

Getting ready to go for another ride in the alfa romeo. Realising I am really not made for car modelling! Photo Credit: Matteo

Getting ready to go for another ride in the alfa romeo. Realising I am really not made for car modelling!
Photo Credit: Matteo

The roman ocean!

The roman ocean!

To windy! Not everyone can create the perfect wind hair!

To windy! Not everyone can create the perfect wind hair!

Graffiti, graffiti everywhere!

Graffiti, graffiti everywhere!

the cute little seaside town

the cute little seaside town

dopo la mare we made our way for a quick look around the mall, then made our way back to nonna’s. Once we arrived, who should show up but the cutest little pirate in all the world!

Daniel the pirate! Photo Credit: Matteo

Daniel the pirate!
Photo Credit: Matteo

Allora, not much more excited happened after that, it’s now 12:25am, and I should really go to dormi as we are going to go out of rome for the day tomorrow!

A dopo miei amici!

Ciao

Anna

One thought on “la massa, homemade gnocchi, in mare e pirates

  1. […] the first time I had been to the beach in 2 years, other than the rather windy time I went there in febbraio! It was the first time that I got to literally swim in the open sea in a temperature that made it […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

