Piovere, Bracciano, il lago e una kinder sorpresa MAXI!

Ciao a tutti,

Allora, ieri I woke up to piovere piovere piovere… I hate rain! More than anything, it gets in the way of all my wonderful plans. And I really love to plan things! Unfortunately because of the pioggia it meant no assisi because all the roads were closed. But we had a back up plan, so we made our way to Braccianoa small town about 30km (18 miles) northwest of Rome. Now while it was raining a little bit, the views were stupendous, bella campagna views. Green grass everywhere, little farm houses, my italian dream! But when we arrived we arrived only to disappointed.

We first arrived at the Italian Airforce Museum only to find the gates barred, and a little sign saying closed on the weekends and on lunedi… great, just travelled about 45 minuti to NOT see some old war machines. Then we went on to arrive in the town of Bracciano to go to see the Castello orsini-odescalchinow this was one of my one goals of this vacanza to see a Castle! At 25, I still like to think I’m a princess in my head, and if I went to an italian castle I would have walked around saying very loudly sono principessa anna! But alas, we arrive into Bracciano, make our way to the castello all the while thinking everything is looking pretty closed, no shops open, not even pizzerias. We arrived just outside the castello, get out of the car, pay for parking, only to find that the castello orsini-odescalchi is also not open on lunedi… what is up with everything not being open on a monday… so much to how disappointed me started to make our way back. Couldn’t even go anywhere for a bite to eat for lunch, because all the bars, restaurants and cafes were closed.

the only view of the castle I get to experience…. so close yet so far away. Maybe next i will get to be principessa Anna…

the only view of the castle I get to experience…. so close yet so far away. Maybe next i will get to be principessa Anna…

Gate all shut up :( drove all this way with nowhere to go!

Gate all shut up 😦 drove all this way with nowhere to go!

After all this disappointment of NIENTE being open, we made our way to see one last possible destination in bracciano, Lago di Braccianoit is a lake of volcanic origin and the second largest lake in lazio. So we made our way there, unfortunately it was still a miserable day, but hey I got to see some swans. haha

beautiful swans, with their massive long necks!

beautiful swans, with their massive long necks!

il lago! Even in crappy weather it is still beautiful!

il lago! Even in crappy weather it is still beautiful!

Selfies time!

Selfies time!

Playing hide and seek Photo Credit: Matteo

Playing hide and seek
Photo Credit: Matteo

My poser of a fidanzato!

My poser of a fidanzato!

After our disappointing late morning/early afternoon we made our way back to roma, and stopping at the autogrill, where I found the most amazing treat in il mondo!

GIANT KINDER SURPRISE!!!!

GIANT KINDER SURPRISE!!!!

Later that evening, we enjoyed a wonderful cena, of those funny looking roman broccoli, it was really delicious! With herb potatoes and roast turkey! At around 9.30pm, we then made our way to the “meeting spot” where all of Matteo’s amici gather to have a chat and decide there next location, it was so nice to see his friends again, I just love how everyone greets each other with air kisses on the cheek! We then made our way to a bar for a quick coffee, (or in my case a coke) then made our way back to the meeting spot. Luckily some of Matteo’s friends can speak a little bit of english. Matteo’s friend chiappa, was saying that if we speak in english, it’s like a secret language, no one else will really understand. I was thinking that that is how I feel about italian, it’s like a secret language that everyone else understands apart from me. I really need to concentrate if I want to understand what’s going on, but even then, half the time it just washes right over me! But as everyone tells me piano piano! I guess it’s not going to come over night, but it will happen…. eventually! i mean I want it bad enough! JUST HAPPEN NOW!!!! ahhhh!

On a side note, I did have to actually talk to some shop keepers by myself, I had to go to the pharmacy to get some buscofed (ibuprofen) and Matteo waited in the car, I went into the farmacia, up to one desk, and said “hai bisogno di buscofed” she pointed me to the main desk, so I repeated the question to the donna behind the counter, and it all worked out wonderfully! No one even said anything in english to me at all… perchè they normally do when they hear my accent.  I was so proud! Then I also had to ask for a straw in italian, not that I can remember what I said now, but he never replied in broken english too! Small steps Anna, small steps!

Well I’m still in bed, so I best be getting up soon, Matteo has gone for a long awaited haircut, and pranzo won’t be too far away!

Ciao miei amici!

A dopo

x

Anna

 

Leave a Reply

