A Cassino era tutto chiuso…. Latina piana delle orme, e canzoni da Frozen

Ciao a tutti,

Just after 10am Papa Stefano arrived to pick up Matteo and I with his fidanzata Mariangela. And we made our way to Cassino, since for me being a Neozelandese meant that there was a bit of history for me. We rolled up outside the museo, only to find it chiuso, everything on a Sunday at this time of year was closed. Nothing was open! Much to our disappointment. This always seems to be happening to me whenever we decided to go and see something… Papa managed to get the attention of some people through the gate at the museo, and they said that everything was closed until marzo, but that there was a memorial for the Neozelandese just by the train station. So we made our way to la stazione di treni to hunt out this “special” memorial. And well to me it was a bit of a joke. I mean yes it’s nice to find a special memorial for New Zealand on the otherside of the world, but I mean look at it…. It’s not that exciting! But hey I guess beggars can’t be choosers right…

The New Zealand flag!

The New Zealand flag!

All the flags outside the Cassino museum

All the flags outside the Cassino museum

As close as I could get to seeing what was inside the museum

As close as I could get to seeing what was inside the museum

The cassino abbey. Where the Benedictine monks are. It was bombed during WWII and the americans rebuild it.  Photo Credit: Matteo

The cassino abbey. Where the Benedictine monks are. It was bombed during WWII and the americans rebuild it.
Photo Credit: Matteo

 

The neozelandese plaque by the Cassino train station

The neozelandese plaque by the Cassino train station

Look at it. It's tiny! But I guess it is all the way on the other side of the world….

Look at it. It’s tiny! But I guess it is all the way on the other side of the world….

We then jumped back into the car to make our way to Latina, first stopping at a cute little trattoria on the way, where we enjoyed a delicious meal of antipasti, pasta al pomodori and a couple of bites of Matteo’s tiramisu. Where we saw a funny report of the television about an English man driving on the wrong side  of the road because he thought he was in England. That would definitely be a big fear for me when it came to driving in Italy. I think I would need to actually get lessons to overcome that fear… or maybe a vespa. I think it would be easier on a vespa! Haha 😛

My delicious antipasto! I love prosciutto!

My delicious antipasto! I love prosciutto!

We finally made it back on the road and came in view of Latina. Which originally used to be all swamp land until Mussolini actually did something good, where he turned it into a little town… after that he met Adolf, and well we all know what happened there… We made it to the museo, where we went into the little shop. I thought it was going to be all war stuff, but like new war stuff…. Not items that were originally from la guerra. Matteo bought my step father some bullets from the war to send over to Nouva Zelanda, so hopefully he should enjoy those!

Having just arrived to piana delle orme. Matteo with his "step mum" Mariangela!

Having just arrived to piana delle orme. Matteo with his “step mum” Mariangela!

The souvenir shop…. souvenirs FROM the WW!

The souvenir shop…. souvenirs FROM the WW!

In memory of the fallen on the cassino, anzio, and nettuno front lines 1943 - 1944, Latina 21st January 2008

In memory of the fallen on the cassino, anzio, and nettuno front lines 1943 – 1944, Latina 21st January 2006

Piana delle Orme!!!

Piana delle Orme!!!

From learning about the good things Mussolini did by creating Latina, to learning the horrible things that the Italian jewish went through. At least when they first created the concentration camps by order of Mussolini they weren’t to be harmed in anyway, and if they were working they were to be paid, to the harsh consquences that happened after Benito got chummy with Hitler, we saw all the names of the Italian jews in a train car, to seeing how they could tell who was who from the tags on their pajamas. It was quite painful to see. I couldn’t help but imagine what it would be like in those days. Growing up today we are so lucky to know that we will never have to go through anything like that. Children born in todays world will never understand how lucky they are. They will never have to go through what our grandparents went through as children. But then they will probably never truly learn or understand from our grandparents, as the war was a very long time ago now. And all those that lived through it won’t be here for too much longer. Which is another whole sadness in itself.

To the fallen of all the wars...

To the fallen of all the wars…

Just casually chilling out with a soldier

Just casually chilling out with a soldier

The baggage train

The baggage train

The names of all the italian jews….

The names of all the italian jews….

How they used to distinguish the people, with the little tags on their pyjamas. (jail suits)

How they used to distinguish the people, with the little tags on their pyjamas. (jail suits)

Mussolini…

Mussolini…

I couldn’t help but getting rather patriotic and proud for New Zealand when I spotted the flag and would read things about the New Zealanders. Where were the Australians in all this hey? Not there, but the New Zealanders who lived on the other side of the world who probably didn’t have anything to do with the War really because they were too far away, they were there fighting beside all the Italians, americans, French, Canadians, belgiums etc etc etc. It was exciting seeing all the little photos they had on the KIWIS as they called them on one information board! Go the Kiwis! From half way across the world you can still make us proud!

The countries in the war at Cassino

The countries in the war at Cassino

New Zealand troops attacking in the middle of the destroyed Cassino centre.

New Zealand troops attacking in the middle of the destroyed Cassino centre.

New Zealand infantries in a moment of break

New Zealand infantries in a moment of break

After seeing how they did everything in the “olden days” it was finally time to go back to roma. It was a very learned experience for me. Because I am quite naïve in the ways of la guerra, but it makes me want to learn more.

To finish of the evening, I found some FROZEN musica!!! Now I love the film frozen, who can complain when there is a Principessa, clearly named over them! haha, and I unfortunately missed out on seeing it here with Matteo’s sorella Gaia as she was working all the time. So to cure that issue, I got some songs from frozen in italian. I already know them in English, so this should improve the understanding right? Oh I hope so! 😛

Photo credit: Wiki

Photo credit: Wiki

Oggi is now our last day here, as we will be leaving early tomorrow morning. I think both Matteo and I are struggling, because we are torn, I mean I don’t want to leave at all. But he doesn’t want to leave, but knows we have to because it’s better for us in londra at the moment. I think I now have a goal, to save as hard as I can to be able to save to make the move here, after hard convincing to Matteo. And hoping that people like Matteo Renzi (if he becomes Prime minister) will make it better for all Italians!

Ciao a tutti!

See you back in londra!

To finish off I’ll leave you with some more pictures of our trip to piana delle orme:

Once upon a time….

Once upon a time….

Sneaking into a tunnel I wasn't supposed too at the train station. I was going to plead ignorance of the language if I got caught...

Sneaking into a tunnel I wasn’t supposed too at the train station. I was going to plead ignorance of the language if I got caught…

Beautiful Peacock. They weren't trying to hit on any girl peacocks so wouldn't show us their pretty wings.

Beautiful Peacock. They weren’t trying to hit on any girl peacocks so wouldn’t show us their pretty wings.

Matteo would make such a good madre :P

Matteo would make such a good madre 😛

Fiat tractor!!!

Fiat tractor!!!

I think I would be the coolest tractor driver out there. It suits me no?

I think I would be the coolest tractor driver out there. It suits me no?

Boys will be boys!  "Can I get a picture with the tank!!!?" This tank was also in the film la bella e vita.

Boys will be boys!
“Can I get a picture with the tank!!!?”
This tank was also in the film la bella e vita.

I really adored the UV images. They portrayed so much.

I really adored the UV images. They portrayed so much.

An old comic strip of the time.

An old comic strip of the time.

The New Zealand flag once again! Out and Proud in this little town of Latina!

The New Zealand flag once again! Out and Proud in this little town of Latina!

Arrivederci

Anna x

3 thoughts on “A Cassino era tutto chiuso…. Latina piana delle orme, e canzoni da Frozen

  1. This was a fascinating litle history lesson for me, and I love all your photos.
    I am not too optimistic about what Renza can do if he becomes Prime Minister – He’s an Italian, they never manage to change anything! Though I sometimes think maybe that’s for the best… 😦
    And I think if you do drive in Italy, you should stick with that yellow tractor. It suits you, and it would be a good protection against crazy Italian drivers!

    Like

    • thanks!
      Yea I don’t think most italians are too optimistic about Renzi. My italian mamma doesn’t like him, she thinks he’s good at selling himself but not much else!
      haha yes I would have no problem with the rest of italy’s crazy drivers if I had that yellow tractor! 🙂
      x

      Like

  2. surprisebjg says:

    molto bravo mi piace molto!

    Like

Leave a Reply

