Road Block

Ciao a tutti,

Recently, really since I have gotten back from Italy, I have really felt at a road block with my language abilities. I feel like I just can’t get over this “hump”, to get back into my studies, and small achievements day by day. Sure I’m still listening to italian music, singing along, watching some italian television, speaking little bits of italian with Matteo, but past that, I just feel like I’m not getting any further.

I know that if I do get past this up, it’ll be all downhill from here (as in easy, because walking uphill is hard) and then I think that my language abilities with just increase so much. But right now, I feel as though I’m staring at a brick wall, with no place to go.

Has anyone else experienced these issues with their language learning?

photo credit: google images

photo credit: google images

Ciao belli!

Anna x

5 thoughts on “Road Block

  1. Sometimes I don’t feel motivated. I think for you it’s just having to push through it. Or, maybe it’s time to just take a break.

    Like

  2. Cindi says:

    “Has anyone else experienced these issues with their language learning?”

    Oh yes! I find my “inner brain” fights the idea of leaving the comfort of English … I keep retreating to it like a warm and cozy blanket.

    I need Norwegian to feel as comfortable as my native tongue, just as you need Italian. We just have to keep at it, don’t we?

    (Your graphic is PERFECT.)

    Like

  3. I know exactly where you’re at. I had to be very disciplined when I started studying the language because I was at uni – there was no room to fail. But since then… well…. the discipline has been harder to muster.

    One of my italian teachers suggested that we buy one of those dictionaries (you can get them online now) that list the top 500 most commonly used words. She suggested we learn the words & meanings over the holidays, 10 words each day. Its fairly simple rote learning, mindless really… but it was one of the best things I ever did, because it meant that with even basic grammar I was able to speak fairly fluently.

    Anyway… good luck. Just keep chipping away at it.
    Marnie

    Like

Leave a Reply

