Papa Francesco e la regina!

Ciao a tutti,

Now since I live in londra now, we have to be a bit more open to the concept of an actual working monarchy, so I was just a piccolo bit excited when I found out that Pope Francis was meeting Queen Elizabeth. I think it was such a big thing, in the fact that it is unity between the church of England and the Catholic faith, as well as unity in different cultures.

I think one thing I find, is that cultural differences are hard. Especially when you experience them everyday by having an italian fidanzato. But for all our cultural differences, I think I get more annoyed at mine, rather than at his. I mean, I love that italians (or well my italian) is quite reserved when it comes to new people, or that they make friends in primary school and keep them forever. I wish that was the case for me. I think I have a few of them on Facebook, but then I wouldn’t really call them “friends” anymore. I love the sense of unity that italians have with their families. I am pretty close with my family in little old Greymouth town, New Zealand, but then again, I’m now in a completely different continent on the other side of the world AWAY from them. Sure I call both my mother and grandmother at least once a week, sometimes fortnight, but it’s not the same. At least Italy isn’t hard for me to get to now, and I love how much my nuovo la famiglia italiana has welcomed me into their family, even though my italian is shocking! But still some cultural differences do put strains on relationships.

But hey, that’s part of the fun right! Being with someone that through all your cultural differences, and different upbringings, you still make it happen!

If the pope and the queen can get along, anything can work out! πŸ˜›

Ciao bellissimi!

Anna x

4 thoughts on “Papa Francesco e la regina!

  1. I’m married to a Yorkshireman. We tend to think that because we speak the same language we must be the same culturally – let me tell you – we are not. I think it took me and my husband about 10 years before we’d discovered/conquered all the differences. In many ways Yorkshire people are a lot like Italians, they’re very close to (or is it dependant on? I’m never quite sure) their families and they don’t often move away. It’s funny how us antipodeans don’t seem to build the same close bonds – I’ve noticed it too. I wish I knew why.
    On the other hand we’re so much more independent and self-reliant, open to new things, and there’s a confidence that comes with all of that that is hard to define and that we’re often blind to. I think that’s why they like us. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • haha that’s so true. But they can be very frustrating, sometimes I just wish my other half knew what it was like growing up on the other side of the world. I mean I see the cultural differences here with my co workers everyday, but I guess it’s bigger when you’re with a person all the time. haha But that’s what makes life interesting isn’t it! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m Irish and married a Swede….He is reserved and I am an emotional gabbermouth! We are very different, and think the other has weird qwirks. But, it’s the people we are and the families we come from. We’ve been stretched for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

